Toss a Beanbag for Every Fumble

Rule 2-33-1c says a loose-ball play is action during a fumble by Team A from in or behind the neutral zone prior to a change of team possession.

A few years ago, before a handful of rules book changes, we instructed new officials that they didn’t need to throw a beanbag if Team A fumbled the ball behind the neutral zone because the beanbag was not needed for penalty enforcement.

Now it’s time for old dogs to learn new tricks.

Rule 4-3-1 EXCEPTION says, “When a forward fumble goes out of bounds or is ruled out of bounds between the goal lines, the ball shall be returned to the spot of the fumble.”

We need to mark the spot of the fumble, even when it’s:

  • in the middle of the field
  • in or behind the neutral zone
  • in Team A/K’s end zone

If the ball goes out of bounds in advance of the spot of the fumble, we will return the ball to the spot of the fumble.

The spot of a fumble now matters for penalty enforcement AND the new forward fumble rule.


Quiz

Read the quiz stem and then choose the best answer.

3/10 from the A-5. A12 takes the snap, retreats into his end zone, is hit, and fumbles. B17 muffs the ball which enters the field of play and goes out of bounds at the A-2.

  1. The result of the play is a safety
  2. The result of the play is a touchback
  3. 4/13 from the A-2
  4. 1/10 for Team B at the A-2

Review Rules 2-13-1, 4-3-1 EXCEPTION, 8-5-2a, Football Fundamentals (I. Possession)

Click below to reveal the Quiz answer and accompanying explanations.