Here are two Ray Lutz “Forward Progress” posts from August 2007 (Edited for clarity)
August 28
Reading your assigned interior blocking keys at the snap makes you a proactive official rather than a reactive official. Your “key” will tell what kind of play is unfolding and where that play is likely to go. This information lets you know where your eyes should focus and where your body should be moving. Reactive officials who don’t read keys and watch the ball to see what is going to happen should go outside and buy a ticket because they’re not much more than a spectator.
So, what is the question that needs to be answered? “What did my key do on the last play?” If you can answer that question, you have your head in the game. If you don’t know what your key did, re-focus and read him closely this play.
August 29
In response to yesterday’s notes on keys, I received a question asking how an official knows what kind of play is developing and where the play is going by reading interior blocks at the snap.
The type of block our key makes tells us a lot. If it is a drive block, we can pretty well guess the play is going between the tackles. If our key interior lineman pulls, it’s likely he’ll be the lead blocker on a trap play or a sweep. Pulling linemen tell wing officials a great deal. If the numbers are coming toward you, you can be sure the play is also. If the numbers on the pulling lineman are moving away from a wing, it’s likely the play is too.
If linemen retreat, it is a good guess that a 5- or 7-step drop pass is coming. In contrast, cut blocking by one side of the line indicates a quick 1-step pass to that side of the field.
Blockers are taught to put their head on the play side of the defender. If you are good enough to read the head in the block, you will have a head start in knowing where the play is going.
A good way to improve your reading skills is to focus on linemen when watching a game on TV and see how accurately you can predict what kind of play is coming and where it is going.
Quiz
Read the quiz stem and then choose the best answer.
4/6 from the K-40. K77’s snap goes over punter K13’s head. K13 recovers the ball on the K-25, turns and kicks, and is immediately contacted by R22 with a wrap-up tackle.
- Foul for roughing the kicker
- No foul
Review Rule 9-4-5a